Marin Symphony: Quintessential Beethoven, Chic Tchaikovsky

Tuesday, February 25, 2014, 7:30 p.m.

Alasdair Neale, conductor
Austin Huntington, cello 

Music Director Alasdair Neale and Marin Symphony orchestra bring exciting classics to life for the third 61st Season Masterworks concerts. “The Apotheosis of the Dance” was how Richard Wagner described Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony, a work teeming with volcanic energy from start to finish. Tchaikovsky’s elegant Rococo Variations showcases young virtuoso cellist Austin Huntington in his Marin Symphony debut. The spotlight will be on 18-year-old Austin Huntington, an already accomplished cellist who has dazzled audiences across the globe. Masterworks Pre-Concert Talks begin on Sundays at 2:00pm and Tuesdays at 6:30pm, and are free for all ticket holders.


Elgar, Introduction and Allegro
Tchaikovsky, Variations on a Rococo Theme, Austin Huntington, cello
Beethoven, Symphony No. 7


Single tickets: $70, $54, $29
Teachers/college students: $35, $27.50, $14.50
Youth, age 8-17: $10


Marin Center Veterans’ Memorial Auditorium

Marin Center Box Office
Box Office Phone: 415.473.6800

Open Monday through Friday, 11:00am to 6:00pm
$5 ticketing fee for online and phone orders
NO ticket fee for in-person orders, and NO fee for tickets sold at the door
Box Office location: 10 Avenue of the Flags, San Rafael, CA 94903

Directions to the concert hall.