2012-13 Masterworks Overview

Maestro Alasdair Neale has created five exciting concert programs celebrating our 60th Season.

Sundays at 3pm and Tuesdays at 7:30pm
Pre-concert talks begin one hour prior to each performance (FREE to all ticket holders).


Viva Italia!

CONGRATULATIONS to Quartet San Francisco and our Marin Symphony orchestra… standing ovations on both Sunday and Tuesday! Read the review on sfcv.org.

October 28 & 30, 2012
Carnivae Italiano, Season-Opening Gala: Sunday, October 28 at 5:30pm 

THANK YOU to everyone who experienced our 60th Season Gala celebration… we appreciate your support. The buzz is that it was one of our best parties ever!

Rossini Overture to The Barber of Seville
Mendelssohn Symphony No. 4 in A Major, “Italian”
Cohen Concerto Carnevale for String Quartet and Orchestra (world premiere, Quartet San Francisco)
Respighi Pines of Rome


Romantic Passions

CONGRATULATIONS to Nigel Armstrong and our Marin Symphony orchestra… standing ovations on both Sunday and Tuesday!

January 20 & 22, 2013

Glinka Overture to Ruslan and Ludmilla
Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1 in G Minor (Nigel Armstrong, violin)
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6 in B Minor, “Pathétique”


Of Heroes and Angels

CONGRATULATIONS to Axel and our Marin Symphony orchestra… and Happy Birthday to you Mr. Strauss! Your performances and encores were incredible.

March 10 & 12, 2013

Kernis Musica Celestis
Mozart Violin Concerto No. 5 in A Major (Axel Strauss, violin)
Beethoven Symphony No. 3 in E-flat Major, “Eroica”


Remembrance and Renewal

Thanks to everyone who attended our concerts on Sunday and Tuesday. “Our Marin Symphony Chorus sounded better that ever before…” -Alasdair Neale, Music Director

April 14 & 16, 2013
Featuring: the Marin Symphony Chorus

Clyne Within Her Arms
Brahms A German Requiem


Vive la France!

Thanks to everyone who attended our Masterworks season finale concerts on Sunday and Tuesday!

May 5 & 7, 2013

Debussy/Matthews selected Piano Preludes, side-by-side with Joyce Yang
Ravel Piano Concerto in G Major (Joyce Yang, piano)
Debussy La Mer